Records Were Made to Be Broken

Posted by Sports Integrity on

Every sport has its record holders, whether it’s the most home runs in baseball or the most receiving touchdowns in football. The players who hold these records obtained them over lengthy careers, and many achieved greatness using subpar equipment and training facilities. Their athletic prowess was what drove them to the amazing heights, and they live on as legends in the memories of the fans who watched them. At Sports Integrity, we have plenty of collectibles and memorabilia from record holders, but it’s always important to remember that records are made to be broken!

Bob Gibson’s Immaculate ERA

Bob Gibson pitched his entire career with the St. Louis Cardinals, and he is still considered one of the best pitchers of all time. In 1968, Gibson’s earned run average (ERA) was 1.12, a mark that won’t likely be replicated any time soon. This is mostly due to the fact that after 1968, Major League Baseball lowered the pitcher’s mound by five inches and reduced the height of the strike zone!

The Great One

Every hockey fan in the world knows who Wayne Gretzky is. With a career that spanned more than 20 years and four NHL teams, “The Great One” averaged nearly 2 points per game and put up 215 total points during the 1985-86 season. His career point total of 2,857 will likely never be broken, but one never knows!

More Than 100 Records

Jerry Rice was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2010, and rightly so, given that he holds more than 100 NFL records. His most notable include the most career receiving yards at 22,895, the most career receptions at 1,549, and more career touchdown receptions with 197. He also has the most career regular season games played by a position player at 303, and he’ll likely be remembered as one of the greatest of all time.

An Eight-Peat?

These days, when a team wins two or three championships, they’re considered a dynasty. If they win them back-to-back-to-back, they often enter the conversation of the greatest teams in their sport. However, how many professional teams have won eight championships in a row? The answer to that question is easy – one. The Boston Celtics won eight straight NBA championships from 1959 to 1966, and players like Bill Russell and Bob Cousy led the way. Legendary coach Red Auerbach engineered those championship teams, and with the parity and contracts in the NBA today, it’s unlikely that any team will ever come close to the Celtics’ championship streak.

If you’re looking for autographed memorabilia from record holders, or you want a signed collectible from an athlete that you think will one day break a record, then look through our inventory today. At Sports Integrity, we love helping people find the perfect items, and we always make sure that the products in our store are verified and authentic. If you have a question about a collectible, we’ll be more than happy to help.

Find your memorabilia today!

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →


Leave a comment